Skip to content

Kuala Lumpur Eats

Pick Your Stick

Although I wasn’t a huge fan of Kuala Lumpur, I did enjoy my time exploring and tasting street food. My introduction to eating in Malaysia happened several months earlier during a trip to Penang. Penang had an amazing mix of different cuisines and I could have stayed there for a month just eating my way around. While traveling in Bangkok I met a woman from Kuala Lumpur and she told me I had to visit and eat on Jalan Alor. The first time I visited Jalan Alor I arrived around 5 p.m. because I was hungry and wanted to go to bed early. As I sat eating I watched the street come to life: men with menus in hand calling out to people, groups searching for tables large enough for their parties, and the smell of grilled meat and fish permeating the surrounding area. This was my kind of street.

Packed on Jalan Alor

My friend suggested I try WAW while on Jalan Alor. I was determined to find it. I walked passed many restaurants and was tempted to stop at many but I kept walking…all the way at the end of the street I found it:

WAWAW

The chicken wings were amazing, so amazing I never took a photo. I also devoured some kangkung, satay and other dishes that the camera just didn’t catch:

Kankung

Malaysian Sate

Wandering Jalan Alor:

On a Not Open Fire

Asia on a Stick

Lobster

Durian

When Victor arrived in KL, we decided to wander around one morning and find breakfast. I wanted noodles. And the food gods said, “noodles ye shall have.” I saw a sign for Lot 10 food court. We descended down an escalator and beheld a vast basement full of clean hawker stalls. I got my noodles and some delicious radish cakes:

Pancakes

Pork Noodle Heaven

Crowded Underground

If you are near Central Market, Kedai Kopi Lai Foong, 138 Jalan Tun HS Lee, is a great option. This is a classic Chinese-Malaysian open-air food and drink restaurant. The beef noodles and kwetiau noodles were delicious and I paired this with some extremely sugary and milky iced coffee:

Old Kedai

Nom Noodles

Classic

For a nice dinner (read way pricier), Victor and I headed a bit outside central KL to Tamarind Springs. The area around the restaurant is beautiful and it’s definitely a great place to have an upscale dinner. It reminded me a lot of the Tugu Group restaurants in Indonesia.

Tamarind Springs

With all of the eating and walking, sometimes you just need to pamper yourself. Victor and I decided to go to Kenko Fish Spa at the Pavilions Mall. I had been wanting to try a fish spa for months and it was now or never.

Eat My Feet

Kenko had several different pools. The idea is that the fish eat the dead skin off of your feet and legs. The fish flocked to me in every pool. In the first pool it actually hurt a little bit when the fish were eating. In the other pools the fish were a bit smaller so it just tickled. In the end, the fish didn’t get all of my dead skin, but I’m glad I finally gave it a try!

Eating My Feet

Enjoy eating, or feeding some fish in KL!

Where to Eat in KL: Jalan Alor, Lot 10 food court (50 Jalan Sultan Ismail), Kedai Kopi Lai Foong (138 Jalan Tun HS Lee), and Tamarind Springs (Jalan 1, Taman Tun Abdul Razak, 68000 Ampang).

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Oh my! The food of Malaysia still makes me swoon. :)

    May 1, 2013

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

