Skip to content

Fleeting Moments in Bali

Together

Have you ever had one of those moments when you are standing in paradise, you are completely alone, and everything seems to make sense?

The 14 months I lived in Indonesia were incredible and to say a proper “until we meet again” (because I don’t believe in good-byes), I decided to take a solo trip across the island of Flores. To fly to Flores, you must connect from Bali — a difficult place to spend a day and night before a flight! Each time I went to Bali while living in Jakarta, I chose a different part of the island. Because I was catching an early morning flight, I decided to stay in Sanur, one of the older hotel areas that is supposedly 15 minutes from the airport, but with lots of construction at and around the airport it was more than 15 minutes.

Offerings

A turtle rescue and hatching site:

Babies

Maybe it was the warm sea breeze, or the baby turtles or the fact that I’d outwitted Indonesian immigration, but as I stood on Sanur Beach I had one of those moments that I knew I was exactly where I was supposed to be. The year I worked as a journalist in Indonesia reaffirmed my desire to try and make it in a field that is undergoing extreme change and cutbacks. I was challenged, but more than anything, I enjoyed what I was doing. Or maybe it was just the sunshine and Bintang talking…

Sail Away

Flying Kite

One thing I noticed while living in Indonesia was the prevalence of kites — from basic to intricate and beautiful ones that I spotted flying over the beach, they always made me smile.

Upward Bound

The Sanur area had a relaxed vibe and the crowd seemed much older versus Kuta. The beachfront was crowded with high-end hotels including the Hyatt. It was always funny for me to be in these areas surrounded by tourists because as soon as I ordered food in Indonesian and conversation started up, I felt like I wasn’t being treated as much as a tourist anymore and sometimes staff would joke and complain with me about the tourists.

Flying

Together

Before I knew it the moment(s) had passed and I was flying high above Bali in a tiny, tiny plane headed for one of the most beautiful places in the whole world…

Where to Stay: Segara Agung Hotel, Sanur, Bali. This hotel is on quiet side street about a 5 minute walk to the beach.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Perfect place to have fun anyway:D

    February 1, 2013
  2. Snore as it’s affectionately known, is the closest town to where we have our house in Bali. It’s great for weekends away from Jakarta but not half as lovely as Flores which, truth be told is where I’d much rather be staying.

    Loved your photos Lydia – On my first trip here I got up at 5.30am and walked to the beach to try to get a shot of the sunrise through the gazebo but unfortunately my camera lense didnt like the transition from A/C’d room to humid early morning so everything misted up! It was such a beautiful sight though and maybe I’ll catch it another time!

    February 1, 2013
    • Snore – now that’s a wonderful nickname. Many photos and posts on Flores coming soon. It really is a magical place.

      February 1, 2013
  3. Lovely! I’ll be moving to Sanur in a few months. So excited!

    February 1, 2013
    • Lucky you! I look forward to following your adventures in Indonesia, a country I was lucky enough to call home for 14 months.

      February 1, 2013
  4. I’ve just got to get over there one day. I know the feeling you describe, of being somewhere you had never been to, are not at all familiar with, but just feel like it’s the right place to be, and you are contented. It’s inspiring. Thanks Lydia!

    February 6, 2013
    • Thanks for the kind words. I hope you make it out to SEAsia some day soon. The ticket is pricey, but once there it’s easy to travel and eat cheaply.

      February 6, 2013

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

