Skip to content

Indonesian Fruit Installment 15: Sirsak, Soursop

It has been far too long since I introduced everyone to a new fruit. Soursop might just be the ugly duckling of tropical fruit. Known in Indonesian as sirsak, this green, prickly fruit isn’t about to win any beauty pageants.

I was a bit intimidated by soursop. It isn’t the smallest of fruits and I wasn’t sure what to do with it. This all ended one day at the office canteen when the juice man, Uncle Jay, who insulted me on a regular basis (you looked pretty…..yesterday), made me his “special smoothie.” The smoothie was a mix of soursop and strawberry and I was instantly hooked.

Soursop does not have an especially hard skin, so you can give it a gentle squeeze to see if it’s ripe or not.

After trying Uncle Jay’s smoothie (he insisted I call him uncle), I decided I wanted to try and recreate this on my own. For a few thousand rupiah (around 30 cents) I bought one soursop that was very ripe. I split the fruit in half. It had a creamy consistency and then I noticed the interior pods filled with seeds.

Emily photographed as I de-seeded the soursop. Soursop, as its name suggests, is a bit sour, but it also has a fruity flavor that gives it a hint of sweetness at the end of the bite. The flavor is interesting and I have since had some very good soursop gelato. So if you see the ugly bugger, give it a chance.

I blended it all together and was pleased with the result.

Uncle Jay’s Special Soursop Strawberry Smoothie
-1 Soursop
-1 box of strawberries, I used half
-1 tablespoon sugar
-Condensed milk (Uncle Jay was very liberal with this ingredient)
-A little water to blend

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Les #

    Had this as a refreshing cold drink with lunch on Pulau Sumba in June 2013 and will be looking for it again in Bali in December.
    Don’t know the ingredients of the one I had but it didn’t have strawberry and if I hadn’t been in a hurry I would have had another one……… nice and tasty.

    September 10, 2013

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

