Skip to content

Tropical Fruit Installment 13: Santol

For my next two fruit installments, I’ve got some guests visiting from Thailand. Meet, santol.

I first spotted this fruit when I went to the market with my cooking class in Bangkok. I asked the instructor and he told me the Thai name which sounds nothing like the English name I found by Googling (I really do hope it’s the correct name). I didn’t get a chance to buy one then, so when I saw a fruit stand on Ko Phi Phi Don, I couldn’t resist.

The vendor asked if I wanted the fruit cut and since I had no idea which parts were edible, I said “yes.” She sat down on a stool in the back of the small, hot shop and she peeled the santol, with pieces falling on a giant jack fruit below. She cut slivers into the fruit so we could tear it off conveniently.

Santol had a custard-like consistency. To eat the fruit you end up sucking on the white part to get the flavor. It tasted fruity, but it also has a bit of a basil flavor to it as well.

It’s not a fruit I would buy on a regular basis, but I’m glad I gave it a go. Afterall, we did end up eating every last bit:

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. santol! just looking at your pics makes my mouth water. i could actually imagine its sour-y taste :P

    June 6, 2012
  2. Reblogged this on Anything Interesting on WordPress.

    June 6, 2012

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

