Skip to content

Indonesian Fruit Installment 12: The Yellow Dragon Fruit, Or Redemption Tastes Sweet

I promised to be open-minded about dragon fruit, so I decided to give one of its relatives another go. Meet the yellow dragon fruit.

I spotted this yellow guy at a fancy fruit-dominant grocery store named Total Buah, Total Fruit. I eyed the bugger for some time not quite sure if I was ready to be disappointed again. I wasn’t very pleased with my first experience with the reddish color dragon fruit, I expected so much more! But then I thought of you dear readers, and decided maybe this yellow friend would change my outlook on dragon fruit.

And, well, it did. The yellow dragon fruit was very watery but much sweeter than the other dragon fruit I had tried. It had more flavor and I found myself scooping the fruit out with a spoon until it was all gone.

The one down-side to going to a fancy fruit store? This was the single most expensive piece of fruit I have ever bought in Indonesia — almost $4. You may be wondering why so much? I asked the cashier where it was from. The answer: the good ol’ US of A.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. The USA??? I’ve never seen that fruit there before and I’ve been to Wegmans! (East Coast super mega fancy food store ;)

    May 7, 2012
    • Lydia #

      I was also shocked. But she double checked the computer for me. Maybe some upscale places in NYC carry it?

      May 8, 2012
  2. Very cool share!

    May 15, 2012

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

