Skip to content

Food Review: Super Duper Weenie

It was unseasonably warm in Connecticut today. When I stepped outside the air didn’t smell like winter anymore (of course, I know it is too early for spring). The weather made me want a hot dog for lunch that I had a few weeks earlier. Fairfield, Connecticut is the half point for me when I drive from school to NYC. Fairfield also has a lot of good food. Lucky me.

Yes, this little joint is called Super Duper Weenie (yes, it has an awesome name and I someday aspire to own or work for a company with a ridiculous name so that I can see the looks on faces when I hand people business cards). I saw this joint on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives and it was Victor who really wanted to go there and I’m not one to argue with going somewhere to eat.

The hot dogs are not just your average dogs. All the condiments and toppings are made on premise and the combinations are fantastic. At about $3.75 a dog you can’t go wrong. I’ve been to Super Duper Weenie several times now and each time has been fantastic. I love the New Englander, sauerkraut, bacon, mustard, sweet relish, and raw onion, the Cincinnatian with Cincinnati style chili, cheddar cheese, and chopped onions is also very good. The owner is a character – in the good sense of the term. I heard him telling a regular about some guy who had the audacity to ask for ketchup. The owner told him to never let him see him putting ketchup on his dog because “ketchup masks all flavor” and that if he wanted to put ketchup on his dog, then the guy better wait until his back was turned. Food-wise the only thing I found to be a bit disappointing were the French fries and let’s face it, the place isn’t called Super Duper French Fries.

The only thing about this place that I wish was different – the hours they are open. I drive up on Sundays a lot and they close at 4 p.m. Sad. Now I’ve gone and made myself hungry.

No comments yet

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

