Skip to content

Turkey, Deer, and Hawks

I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving. I went to my aunt, uncle, and cousins in Baltimore for Turkey Day. As my aunt and I were making a salad in the kitchen a group of deer wandered into the backyard. These guys were probably pretty happy that America decided to make turkey the official food of Thanksgiving.

From Baltimore I headed to New York City for a few days. The Empire State Building was all light up in Thanksgiving colors. I took this photo from the inside of the car and the lights that are blurring up into the sky are actually from car lights in front of us. While in NYC we went to the Angelika Theater and saw a film about NYC. The film was The Legend of Pale Male and it was about the hawk that took up residence in Central Park and then on a ritzy building overlooking the Park and the drama that unfolded when the Co-op board decided to remove the hawk’s nest. If you get a chance I recommend it. It was done by a Belgian film maker so it is a bit quirky in only the best way possible (he had been a salon manager before becoming a film maker).

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that this semester I’ve been taking a taiko class (Japanese drumming). Well the performance is this Friday. Here is a photo of the advanced class playing at the soccer game during Homecoming weekend. I played a bit later when I knew some of the songs.

Hope everyone had a happy Monday – one day closer to Friday!

No comments yet

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

