Skip to content

Keen About Keene

Every now and again you hear about towns across our fine nation that do some crazy, interesting, and ridiculous things. Wesleyan gives us a few days off for fall break and this year I took my friend Alyssa’s invitation and I headed up north to New Hampshire. I asked my friend Diana about her home state of New Hampshire and she told me if it’s October, stop in Keene. So Victor and I heeded her advice and I was really glad I did.

It turns out that Keene is like Star’s Hollow on crack (that’s a Gilmore Girls reference for those not in the know). Keene has an annual pumpkin festival and their goal this year was to have 30,000 pumpkins. Sadly they fell short at around 22,000. But that is still a ton of pumpkins.

The entire town square was lined with pumpkins. I talked with one of the ladies collecting the pumpkins and she informed me that they are chucked after the festival.

See, even a gazebo like on Gilmore Girls. Some people got really creative with their pumpkins. I noticed a set of pumpkins that had a “Stephanie, will you marry me?” carved into them. I don’t know how I feel about being proposed to on a pumpkin because I was just too distracted and overwhelmed by all of the pumpkins.

The pumpkins in Keene are not a joke. Traffic flow slows near the drop off area. Really, I couldn’t make this up if I wanted to.

And then, when I thought it couldn’t get crazier, we found the scaffolding. The whole thing was going to be filled up for the next evening when all the jack-o-lanterns were going to be lite.

Only in America! I also had a pumpkin spice latte this weekend. I like keeping with themes. I’ll post photos from Holderness and Squaw Lake in the coming days. I wish you all dreams of sugar plums and pumpkins.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I lived in Keene during Halloween 2000 and my family and I LOVED the Pumpkin Festival. That was a world record year, at the time 23,000+. It was a bracing cold day and just filled with magic. Here’s a song I wrote about Keene that mentions the festival:
    http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=237477&songID=4921823

    October 22, 2010

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

