Skip to content

So This is What Paradise Looks Like

Little Venice

From Athens we took a ferry to the island of Mykonos. It is a beautiful place – all of the postcard photos prove to be true with the white houses with blue trimming. When we arrived, George from the hostel came and picked us up at the port. He informed us that Mykonos is a party island and that “Don’t worry if you drunk you be drunk.” It was an amusing car ride.

Blue and White

The town of Old Mykonos is full of winding small streets with restaurants and shops. Alana and I had a good time exploring this area:

Narrow Streets

Blue Door

Mykonos is famous for its windmills. They overlook the harbor and this is a great spot to catch the sunsetting:

Sunset

Alana and I were only supposed to spend two days on Mykonos and then take another ferry to Santorini. We went to pay George and the conversation went something like this: George: Where you go tomorrow? Lydia: Santorini. George: No. Lydia: Yes, we have tickets. George: No, earthquake. So as it turns out a 5.1 earthquake hit Santorini, so we decided that it would be best to stay put, so we decided we should check out Paradise (the beach that is):

Welcome to Paradise

Tough Life

Paradise was a nice beach (not my favorite because it was a little loud with all of the bars and the shows they were putting on) but what was neat was an outcropping far out in the water. I swam out to it and you are able to stand on it in the middle of the the sea, pretty cool:

Walking on Water

Love(ly)

There are tons of tourists in Mykonos, the island really survives thanks to all of the business tourists bring but every now and again we would see locals:

Cleaning Fish

There are numerous churches all over the island, this was a nice one in the harbor. Some are decorated inside, others are more plain. The theory was that maybe these used to belong to families because there are so many of them:

Blue Dome Church

And if you are in Mykonos you will encounter the man and his pelican. The pelican is the man’s pet, it’s a funny sight to see the pelican following his owner:

A Man and His Pelican

Now as far as food (and tacky souvenirs), I didn’t buy any of these to bring home:

Tacky

Greece has mastered the art of iced coffee. All of the coffee I had there was excellent:

Coffee, coffee, coffee

And of course when in Greece one should have a gyro (they stick french fries inside of the gyro in Mykonos):

Gyro

And I can’t really tell you how many Greek salads I had over a period of 6 days (but it was more than 6). As far as beer, we tried Mythos and Alpha. I liked Mythos more; both were decent but I wouldn’t go out of my way to find them in the US.

The Usual

Currently I am in London (finally moved into my dorm room) and I will be going to orientation shortly and tomorrow, GASP, I have class. I will post about the ridiculous days I have had in London shortly.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Glad you liked Greece. I have been to Santorini and Mykonos but they are not my favourites now that I have been nto smaller less touristy islands like Amorgos and Folegandros. Glad you liked the mythos too.

    I like your blog and your pictures!

    July 17, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

