Skip to content

La Vie Est Belle

America is my country and Paris is my hometown. -Gertrude Stein

If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a movable feast. – Ernest Hemingway

I am writing from the Czech Republic this evening where it is rainy and I am looking back on five sunny days in Paris (some of my last days in Paris). Victor came to visit so I got to play tour guide but this time I inserted things in the tour that I had yet to do. For example the Tour Montparnasse which is a 56 or so story building with a nice view of all of Paris:

Bird View

Towering

Went to see Sacre Coeur and there were plenty of street musicians and tourists wandering:

White Wall

We walked Pigalle (aka the seedy street of Paris) and I was offered free entrance into a “club” but I declined.

Moulin Rouge

We also went to the Parc des Buttes Chaumont which was very cool and had a neat cliffs and waterfalls.

Waterfall

We also spotted the ever-amazing phenomenon of night rollerblading in the streets of Paris (the best part is the police drive first to make sure no one is on the streets):

Night Skate

Strolled the Jardin des Plantes and went to the menagerie there:

What are you doing in Paris?

Champ de Mars view of the tower:

Sunshine

And my stay in Paris was complete because I found the one statue that was still on my list near Les Halles:

Life in Paris is Complete

Cheers! I am going to have another Pilsner tomorrow and see more of Prague.

No comments yet

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

