Skip to content

Burning Bright in the Streets of Paris at Night

To see a world in a grain of sand and heaven in a wild flower/Hold infinity in the palms of your hand and eternity in an hour. -Auguries of Innocence, William Blake

The last few days have been busy ones full of school work, babysitting, teaching English and my salsa dance class. But as the weather has reached perfection (mid 60s = perfect strolling weather) staying inside and focusing is difficult. So I decided to go to the Petit Palais. The building is magnificent and I saw some of the permanent collection which is quite the collection. But the main draw for me was a new William Blake exhibit. I enjoy Blake’s poetry and seeing his drawings and etchings was very cool (especially a miniature Tyger, Tyger Burning Bright).

Blake Exhibit

Sadly as it warms up, the tourist season is starting to swing into full force. I admit that I am a tourist of sorts myself but not hearing any French in France makes me sad, so I suppose I will start avoiding certain areas from here on out:

The Americans Are Coming!

As far as interesting things I have seen lately, there are the cartoon-like bubble signs near Paris 7 where I take one of my University classes. I think this is from the comic Asterix et Obelix. The following proclaims “It is fresh my fish! It is fresh!” The French are silly.

Fresh Fish

I also stumbled on the Paleontology building which had a very interesting facade with monkey sculptures:

Climbing Vines

This was a building that immediately caught my eye because it didn’t fit in with the rest of the 19th century street facade. Interestingly enough it is a church:

Triangle

Also I have been taking numerous photos in the Metro lately because I am giving a presentation in one of my classes on the culture and arts in the Metro. So check out this new painting. I should practice some Russian and translate it exactly but I got the main gist (always a baba and dido in every story hehe):

Kak Dela?

And I leave you with the Marais at night. Ah it is spring which means one thing: sitting out late into the night. C’est la vie!

Marais Moon

Cafe at the Cafe

No comments yet

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

