Skip to content

This is a Strike, and This is a Cemetery

Biography lends to death a new terror. –Oscar Wilde

I thoroughly enjoy walking the streets of Paris because you always stumble on something interesting. Such as this (Thanks Ako for telling me how to embed video, hopefully there will be more to come):

This was an absolutely huge strike. It stretched for blocks and made my walk take about 20 minutes longer than usual (mainly because I stopped and watched).  The French students and profs and everyone else in this country are just not too fond of Sarko. But what can you do? As I was in the protest mood I went and saw the movie Milk. If you haven’t seen it, please do. Sean Penn is fantastic and it’s an important story.

Today I woke up and it was sunny which was lucky because I decided to go to Cimetière du Père-Lachaise. This is one of the most famous cemeteries in the world and is also has a lot of celebrities, French and others, buried here. In addition I had a professor of Modern European history at Wes tell me that I had to go here (not to see the famous people but to see where members of the Paris Commune were shot), so I figured pourquoi pas? I never did find the place they were shot, so I guess I will have to return.

Lachaise in the Sunshine

Too bad I didn’t have any lipstick with me because I would have loved to give Oscar Wilde a nice wet one (it is tradition with his grave stone):

Oh Oscar!

And of course we had to go find Jim (there is actually a metal barricade around his grave because apparently his fans are crazy). That would be James Morrison:

Jim Morrison

I really recommend walking around Lachaise because there a lot of neat grave stones and other sculptures. This was on top of one of the graves:

Distored World

So my jogging adventures will begin in the next few weeks. But now I must go do a lot of work so I can hang out with Becca and Alyssa as they are arriving soon. :) And I leave you with a bit of Parisian spring:

Flowers

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Sami Hartley #

    If you wanted a protest, there was a huge one in San Francisco the other day and another the night before (both beginning in Harvey Milk Plaza). I’m so glad that you liked Milk–wasn’t it absolutely fantastic? I’m kind of appalled at how little some things have changed, but some progress has been and *fingers crossed* will continue to be made.

    You’ve seen Paris, Je T’aime, n’est-ce pas? The Oscar Wilde vignette is one of my favorites. Perhaps you can contribute to tradition when you go back to find the shooting gallery…

    March 6, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

