Skip to content

You’re One in Six Billion

Introducing my arch-rival and best friend in Paris: Tigre! He hides in my room and then scares the hell out of me. I think he will begin making regular appearances on the blog. Stay tuned.

Tigre!

In other news, today I went to the Grand Palais to see an exhibit entitled 6 Billion Others. The concept was very cool. It was developed by Yann Arthus-Bertrand. They conducted 6,000 interviews in 65 countries “to create a sensitive and human portrait of the planet’s inhabitants.” They asked people questions such as “Do you feel free?” and “What have you learned from your parents?”

Grand Palais

Main Video Display

As I was walking a lady stopped me (of course my reaction is 1. she wants me to buy something  2. preach to me about Jesus  3. she wants directions, all three are things I didn’t want to deal with). But as luck decided to smile on me, her friend was sick and she had an extra ticket. This meant that I got to skip the huge line (the exhibit closes tomorrow) and I had some faith in humanity restored.

The exhibit was fantastic. I think it is really the best exhibit incorporating film and interviews that I have ever seen (Check the site to watch some: http://www.6billionothers.org/index_en.php) There were tents set up that dealt with one of the questions/topics which people were interviewed about, for example, “What is happiness?” I bet you can guess which tent was the most crowded – love stories. The stories and interviews were so raw and honest, one women admitted being married to her husband for 20 years and just last year actually falling in love with him, another women who had been married a few times admitted to never actually being in love. Had I not had a ridiculously runny nose I may have been able to have summoned some tears because in the end everyone from all over the world just had one message: love is the answer.  John Lennon was right, again. Up next in March the Grand Palais will have a huge Warhol exhibit :)

Tent Display

Love

Bonne nuit! I’m waking up super early to go to the other side of Paris to help some business students with their English (last week I got to hear a presentation on Abercrombie and Fitch and was asked my opinion afterwards, it was amusing).

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. great job, would love to see it live

    February 12, 2009
  2. Becca #

    mm..scary cats, eh? not my cup of tea…

    February 13, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

