Skip to content

And All That Jazz

How can anyone govern a nation that has two hundred and forty-six different kinds of cheese? – Charles de Gaulle

I am beginning to wonder how France functions as a country. Turns out I will be finding out soon; because of the strike I now have to take another class through my program and this one will focus on the history and construction of the EU. So I will keep you all posted, that is unless that professor decides to strike as well.

Ah, the sun came out for a few hours and I happened to be outside at the Rodin Museum. It’s a nice museum and the outdoor gardens with sculptures are worth a look. Especially if you want to take obnoxious touristy photos trying to imitate the statues (yes, yes, I did).

The Thinker

Rodin

Sculptures

Also wandered around the Marais which is a great shopping area and also the gay friendly area of Paris so people are even better dressed here.

And everyday when I get on the Metro I walk by the Obama tribute window:

Obama

So last night I decided to go to a jazz club with some friends. Caveau de la Huchette, is two floors and the bottom does resemble a caveau. There was a jazz group from Baltimore (right, I know) playing and they were great and there were some really good dancers.

Baltimore

And here is what I saw when I got off the Metro going to the Jazz club, dance party!

Dance Party

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Tania Haag #

    YES. If all of Paris consists of impromptu dance parties and Obama tribute windows, take me there right now.

    February 8, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

