Skip to content

C’est si bon!

Well the last few days have consisted of me (being a good studious person) going to class, and finding well, no class. Yesterday my film professor wasn’t there, so I emailed her asking if we would have class next week and her response was along the lines of “I don’t know.” My experience shouldn’t be called study abroad; it should be called strike abroad. So I French shrugged and ate a pastry.

I have also explored the land of mass market French food in the last few days. Picard is a store of just frozen and microwaveable foods. I had to grab a quick dinner before the Opera (Madame Butterfly, not an upper) so I decided to try a French microwaveable dinner. It was terrific. America needs to get on that one. Although I still do prefer this:

Market

Flowers

Since my other film professor has shown up twice now and didn’t say much of anything when a young student interrupted his class to discuss the strike, I figured I would be safe buying books for his class. FNAC is what happens when Barnes and Nobel and Best Buy have a child. It is overwhelming large and has everything you could ever want. Including the Bible of French cooking. This Larousse costs around 75 Euros and weighs about 7 pounds. I guess I will keep working and earning money for that one.

Also in my strolls I have come to the conclusion that French pigeons are insane. They fly right at you and only change direction once you have put your hands up to cover your face to block them (so you look like a complete fool). These pigeons, however, found the baguette jackpot:

The Birds

And here is some fun art I have seen on buildings while walking:

Too Hip

Soul

Tree

I hope you are all having a good day. And if not, add a little “fa fa” to it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUVagbFcSUU

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Tania #

    Just curious, what is a french shrug?

    February 7, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

