Skip to content

Happy New Year!

So unintentionally the last few days have had an Asian influence. I read about a Japanese pastry chef named Sadaharu Aoki who happens to have a shop not far from where I live and he makes macaroons with wild flavors. I tried wasabi and green tea and they were fantastically interesting.

Mini Macaroons

I have also been getting emails from the U.S. Embassy warning me to stay away from places because there will be protests. Well, my thought process is cool, let’s go check this out (I know but hey, you are only young once, right?). And because of the strike on Thursday there was a big protest by the Bastille which was essentially one big party with lots of music.

Bastille Protest

The next night I was back in the Bastille area because I went to the Opera Bastille to see Lady Macbeth of Mzensk. The opera was fantastic mainly because it was a crazy Russian love triangle where pretty much everyone ends up dead. The opera building is fantastic and the acoustics are terrific.

Today I ventured to the 13th for the Chinese New Year parade. It was a lot of fun and I had some very good pho for lunch and was also able to go buy some amazing fruit I have never seen or heard of in my life at an Asian grocery store.

Chinese New Year

Dragon

I think this Asian tea company has a certain target audience in mind:

Tea

The weather here is still cold so I figure don’t fight it, go with the flow. This leads to one option only: Hotel de Ville ice skating.

Ice Skating

Well I need to go read Oedipus in French now, so Bonne Sante (Good Health) in the New Year and Happy February!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Gab #

    Lydia!

    I just found your blog (I don’t know what took me so long), I think it’s fantastic and I think your photos are amazing (ever consider dropping out of Wesleyan and taking up professional photography?). Anyway, I’ll be seeing you (on your website)!

    gros bisou!

    February 2, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

