Skip to content

Museums, Mussels and Moulins

The art galleries of Paris contain the finest collection of frames I ever saw.  -Humphrey Davy

I must say that the above quote is completely true. However, the paintings inside the frames are equally amazing. In the last few days I visited Musee d’Orsay (which was converted from an old train station) and the Espace Dali Museum. Orsay is incredible; I spent about two hours looking at impressionist paintings (all of the ones you grow up seeing in books, well they are at the Musee d’Orsay) and this was nowhere near enough time. The Espace Dali is much smaller and you can see everything in about an hour, but it is still worth a look. After all, “Le surrealisme, c’est moi.”  – Salvador Dali.

 

Musee d'Orsay

Salvador Dali

I must have some unconscious desire to climb stairs because I visited Sacre Coeur which is the second highest place in Paris following the Eiffel Tower. It was a bit cloudy, but the view was amazing and there was some very cool lightening with clouds blocking in the sun. Sacre Coeur is in the Monmartre area – read artists and hipsters. Picasso and loads of others lived and worked in this area. This is also the area where Moulin Rouge is located. I didn’t go see it, but I did manage to find another moulin (windmill).

Sacre Coeur

View from Sacre Coeur

But after all this walking I felt a little like this:

Fatigue

Warning: don’t read this part if you are hungry. So I have eaten a lot of mussels in the last couple of days. I went to a restaurant with some friends and had mussels and then my family made some the other night. Both were delicious. Also, (because if you visit a fromagerie and chocolaterie you have to visit more places) we visited a boulangerie. We saw how they made bread. But the real highlight of this was after the tour we each got to choose a pastry. So I now have a new found love of macaroons…best be finding some more steps to climb. And this morning I went to a market to buy food so I can make lunch for myself for the week (hello, Paris not cheap). The market was great and I paid a bit more but got organic veggies. And mom, you would be happy to know that there are signs for homeopathic medicine everywhere.

Moulin

And the following is for Becca and Alyssa because I know both of you would be disappointed if I hadn’t found any good bars/nightclubs. Rue de Lappe near the Bastille (although a bit touristy, but what isn’t in Paris?) has good bars and a hookah bar. So be exctied for March. Okay now I actually need to pick which classes I will be taking…there is always a downside.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Alyssa #

    So clearly I’m a stalker and have been checking your blog quite frequently – everything sounds amazing. I am so jealous! And yay for a shoutout :) Can’t wait until March…

    Love you!
    Alyss

    January 19, 2009
  2. Emilie #

    you are the coolest!!! haha i just saw that you’d started your blog via fb and the pic of the gargoyle is pretty funny :) miss you!

    January 22, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

