Skip to content

Camembert, Reblochon and Rochefort – Oh My!

Lunch kills half of Paris, supper the other half. -Charles de Montesquieu

So I didn’t really understand the above quote before I came to Paris. The last few days of my life have been filled with incredible food. My host family made me an amazing dinner my second night here. We started off with fois gras which was followed by a traditional sausage cooked with apples as well as mashed pomme de terres (look that one up, apple of the Earth). After this we had a cheese platter. To top things off we had an apple tart. Oh and did I mention the excellent wine? Let’s just say I needed to rest afterward – I guess I fall into the supper half in Paris.

Okay I know the looks I am getting…so I’ll continue (and get even more glares) by saying that I have also had a chocolate and cheese tasting in the last few days. The cheese tasting also left me very tired. We sampled: Reblochon, Pont L’Eveque, Brie, Camembert, Comte (2 types), Salers, Chevre, Langres and Rochefort. All were excellent and I might not leave this country…ever.

Chocolate

Smell and Taste

Fromagerie

Oh and everyone should meet the man I would like to bring back to the States with me. His name is Charles and he gave me cheese for three hours (the start of a beautiful friendship).

Charles

But in order to burn some of the calories, I decided to try the ultimate Stair Master: climbing up Notre Dame, all 422 steps of it. It’s an incredible view. And I have now come to the conclusion that no home should be without gargoyles (better get on that one Mom).

Gargoyle Notre Dame

In my strolls around the city I’ve come upon a lot of specialty stores. But today I was really excited as I found a Russian shop that carries my favorite Ukrainian vodka and frozen varenky! This just proves that you can never escape Ukrainians.

As far as my host family, they are very nice people. I have met Phillipe, the father, Vincent, the son (in his mid-twenties) and Delphine, the daughter (late teens) and so far so good. The other day as I was eating breakfast I happened to look out the window in the dining area and saw this:

Rainbow

Somewhere over the rainbow…

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hannah #

    well you called the glares. they’re coming straight your way via the internet. :) anyway, there are no words to express how jealous i am, altho i’m just going to let you know that it was a balmy 68 degrees here today (altho somehow i’m sure paris is worth the weather…).

    January 16, 2009
  2. Becca #

    I hope meeting Phillipe, Vincent, and Delphine is in my future? they sound lovely! and perhaps Charles too. I do enjoy my cheese…

    January 16, 2009
  3. Kirstin #

    LYDIA. you should have packed three suitcases. the good thing about being so short is that I CAN FIT IN A SUITCASE. oh well, i guess it’s too late. i love the pictures/blog…i certainly agree, food in europe, in general, is just better, but paris essentially beats all.

    i also agree with you on the gargoyles.

    January 17, 2009
  4. Tania #

    Yeah Hannah, because given the choice, I would SO much rather be in mild weather Fair Oaks than cold weather Paris. Lydia, I’m now more jealous of you than I was before, and I have a feeling that that will be a recurring theme.

    January 17, 2009
  5. Hannah #

    well, you know, Tania, considering the wonderful weather here lately maybe i would like to stay here…………. yeah, that’s a joke.

    January 19, 2009
  6. I love your narration, you sound as though you’re enjoying a lot…^^ Hey, you seem to have started on cheese and wine and roaming around. Why, you really are getting educated. It’s been three years now and I would suppose you’ve made considerable intellectual progress – what with all the drinks, the museums and the cool people you meet along the way, haha. ;) Cheers!

    May 17, 2012

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

