Skip to content

Je voudrais…

When trying to order food in French you should decide what you want. As my friend Alana was ordering, she said, “Je voudrais (I would like)…and before she could finish her thought the man at the creperie goes “un homme (a man).” It was pretty funny, until he asked for her number and she flat out says “Non.” No, who am I kidding it was still funny.

I moved in with my host family and I have now realized a universal truth: everyone loves Jack Johnson, my host family included. I’m living in the 5th arrondissement which is the Latin Quarter (because of all of the schools in the area, students used to speak Latin here). It is an interesting place and there are a lot of fantastic buildings, museums, restaurants and bars.

Le Pantheon

Le Pantheon

I spent about 3 hours at the Natural History museum and I have to say that French children are much better behaved than American ones. My host family also took me for a drive and I got to see all of Paris by night.

Ferris Wheel

Ferris Wheel

All Lit Up

All Lit Up

Okay quick rant about how much I hate the spread of American consumerism: if I wanted, I could walk to Starbucks and McDonalds from where I am living and eat there everyday because they are only five minutes away. I promise this is the last time I will mention McDonalds.

And far as me, je voudrais… it to warm up just a little.

Frozen Flowers

Frozen Flowers

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Tania Haag #

    Ahahaa I think children in pretty much any other country are better behaved than American kids.

    And seriously, who doesn’t love Jack Johnson? I’m glad you’re starting to get settled in- don’t get too frozen!

    January 13, 2009

What do you think? Leave a reply, comment or witty remark:

